ZEISS Microscopy Webinar

The nanoFAB is pleased to share the following and invites you to attend:

Webinar: ZEISS Microscopy Webinar: Multi-scale correlative microscopy of energy storage and conversion devices.

Wednesday May 11, 2016

8:00 PDT | 11:00 EDT | 16:00 UK | 17:00 CET

Please visit the following link to register and for more information.


This webinar will address the need for multi-length scale characterization that addresses specific challenges in energy materials applications. In order to predict functional performance of devices and their ultimate failure modes, recent work has utilized multi-scale microscopy methods to relate microstructural observations of failures to electrochemical performance. Specific studies and topics will be presented, including:

  • Failures in lithium ion batteries (18650 cell)
  • In operando battery imaging
  • Fuel cells (PEFC and SOFC)
  • 2D, 3D and 4D imaging modalities

A variety of correlative imaging modalities will be presented with a special focus placed on 3D X-ray microscopy and electron microscopy. We will also address strategies and approaches to designing multi-scale correlative imaging experiments, enabled by recent developments at ZEISS.